Advertise With Delhi Capital of India WebsiteFollow Delhi Capital of India on Twitter Like Delhi Capital of India on Facebook Page


  Delhi Tourist Offices
  Delhi Places To Visit
  Areas of Delhi
  Akshardham Temple Delhi
  Lotus Temple or Bahai Temple
  Festivals in Delhi
  Azad Hind Gram
  India Gate
  Red Fort or Lal Qila
  Kerala Treasure Temple

New Delhi

It is the administrative capital of India where parliament house is situated from where the largest democracy functions. New Delhi is divided in three sub-divisions Connaught Place, Parliament Street and Chanakya Puri. Supreme Court of India, the highest judicial body of India, is situated in New Delhi. India Gate built in the memorandam for the World War-I veterans, Pragati Maidan is the Delhi's largest venue where exhibitions are conducted, Connaught place called as Rajiv Chowk is the largest financial, commercial and business centres in Delhi. Chanakya Puri hosts many foreign national embassies and is the most elite and modern area of New Delhi.

Delhi Designed by Edwin Lutyens

New Delhi is a well planned city that was designed by Edwin Lutyens who was one of the leading British architects of the 20th Century AD and was a co-planned effort of Herbert Baker. In 1931 after the completion it was named "Lutyens Delhi" to honor him. Raisina Hill where the ‘Viceroy’s House’ was constructed and later was renamed as the Rashtrapati Bhavan post Independence. "Raj Path" was constructed with wide roads fringed with Tall trees along its entire stretch. During the British rule it was known as "King’s Way" and stretches from the Rashtrapati Bhavan to India Gate. Jan Path formerly known as "Queen’s Way" was constructed to commence from the main commercial centre of Connaught Circus and stretch through Raj Path. Today, Shanti Path homes 19 foreign embassies and hence is the largest diplomatic enclave in India.

Browse Other Delhi Localities

  Central Delhi
  New Delhi
  North Delhi
  North East Delhi
  North West Delhi
  East Delhi
  South Delhi
  South West Delhi
  West Delhi
  National Capital Region (NCR)

Search Delhi Capital of India