Advertise With Delhi Capital of India WebsiteFollow Delhi Capital of India on Twitter Like Delhi Capital of India on Facebook Page



  Delhi Tourist Offices
  Delhi Places To Visit
  Areas of Delhi
  Akshardham Temple Delhi
  Lotus Temple or Bahai Temple
  Festivals in Delhi
  Azad Hind Gram
  India Gate
  Red Fort or Lal Qila

Brief History of Delhi


Delhi history dates back to 6th century BC during Era of Mahabharata. There contains many remnants of several successive ancient cities but only seven are recognized to form the city of Delhi. First notice scripts capitalised was of the Mahabharata War, when the Pandava brothers built an immense and highly sophisticated fortress called Indraprastha. While the earliest architectural relics dates back to 300 BC, during the Maurya Period.

Eleven Ancient Cities of Delhi

The modern Delhi city contains the remnants of around 11 ancient capital cities which includes

1) The highly sophisticated fortress called Indraprastha built by the five Pandava brothers

2) Dhili was founded by Tomara ruler, Anangpal built the Lal Kot Fort. Prithviraj Chauhan defeated Tomara and renamed Qila Rai Pithora.

3) Qutubuddin Aibak further expanded the city in 12th century and named it Mehrauli.

4) Alauddin Khilji built the City of Siri and moved the capital from Mehrauli to Siri.

5) Sultan Ghiyasuddin Tughlaq, the founder of the Tughlaq dynasty, built the city of Tughlaqabad.

6) Jahan Panah was built by Muhammad bin Tughluq.

7) Ferozabad was built by Firuz Shah Tughluq.

8) Shergarh was built by Sher Shah Suri and Dinpanah built by Humayun are near by cities.

9) Lodi Complex built by the Lodi rulers.

10) Shahjahanabad a walled city built by Shah Jahan containing the Red Fort (Lal Qila) and the Chandni Chowk. It was the capital of the Mughal Empire during Shah Jahan's reign.

11) Lutyens' Delhi or New Delhi, the city built by the British on the south-west.

However, Officially only seven of the above mentioned eleven cities are recognized (1) Qila Rai Pithora, (2) Mehrauli, (3) Siri, (4) Tughlaqabad, (5) Ferozabad, (6) Shergarh, (7) Shahjahanabad

Search Delhi Capital of India